Baby-steps to overcome laziness

I think my biggest problem is that I get lazy.

It’s really the thing that holds me back from everything.  I get lazy and just do the bare minimum of what  I need to do on a regular basis.  This is at work and home it seems.

Well I think it’s time to change that.  From now on, I’m not going to be lazy any more.  I’m going to look for the things that I need to do to proactively make my life better.

I’m starting with baby steps here.  One example is working out:  I tend to think of exercise as an all or nothing activity.  Either I get a gym membership, go to the gym, change clothes, lift weights, run on the treadmill, shower, change back, and then go home or back to work OR I sit and do absolutely nothing.  This is a terrible way to look at it.  Guess which one I choose most of the time?

Doing nothing.

So, baby steps.  I’m going to do one set of one of each of these 4 exercises every night before bed:

Push-ups

Pull-ups

Squats

One-legged dead lifts

Enough to work the whole body, even if it is only a little at a time.  It’s better than nothing.  I’ll slowly work my way up to doing more, but I’m making a point to at least do something every day.

Same with work.  Instead of going above and beyond to learn a new skill, I’ll do one small thing every day.  Something I’ve been meaning to do for awhile is to learn VBA.  It always seems so daunting.  So I’m going to find a tutorial and do one small step every day.  Just enough to keep me into it, but not so much to make me quit.

That’s my plan for now.

Later

, ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

