Get out of bed

This morning I tried something new.  I got out of bed when I woke up.  It was awesome.

For the longest time, I’ve always woken up somewhere between 4-6 a.m.  If it’s closer to 4 I’m usually able to fall back to sleep and get a couple more hours in before my alarm goes off at 7.  But if it’s closer to 6, I usually fall back to sleep around 6:30 and then am really groggy when my alarm goes off at 7.

This has been really annoying.  I’m wide awake when I wake up naturally, but am too lazy to get up and do anything.  I just lie there until I doze off just in time for my alarm to go off.  I’m so exhausted after that and generally feel like garbage all day.

Today was different though.  I woke up around 5:30 and decided to stay up.  I did some stretching, made some coffee, and checked my emails.  It was really weird having an extra hour and a half this morning.  The best part is that I’ve been wide awake all day.  I don’t feel drowsy at all.

I’m sure it’ll catch up with me tonight and maybe I’ll hit the sack earlier, but this is great so far.

Apparently, we sleep in cycles of about 90 minutes.  If we wake up after those 90 minutes we usually feel pretty good and well rested.  If the cycle is interrupted, we don’t feel so great because we still want to sleep for the rest of the 90 minute cycle.

I’m going to keep trying this for the rest of the week and see how it goes.  I might even go out and watch the sunrise tomorrow.  I’m definitely not a morning person, but this might just change my perspective.
What do you think?  Anybody else do this?

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Pam S. on September 7, 2011 - 10:15 am

    This happens to me as well – I wake up most of the time before my alarm actually goes off. But I look at the clock and go back to sleep. Then I hit snooze for the next hour and I wind up getting to work late. I do this everyday, and I think its because I hate my job and really dread going to work. On the weekend I don’t even set an alarm and just wake up naturally. I’m going to try doing what you are doing and just getting out of bed.

Leave a Reply

