Self Experiment

Try things out for yourself.  There are a million experts out there who want to tell you what to do.  The only way to really know if something works for you is to try it.  That’s how I lost weight.  I tried all kinds of diets, but nothing worked.  A couple of years ago, I started eating a “paleo” type diet.  See that story here.

In this post on Sweets in the office I mentioned that I’ve basically given up all grains and sugars.  I also said that I’m not here to debate types of diet.  Well I somewhat take that back.

Giving up all modern processed foods and eating a “paleo” type diet that is based primarily on meat and vegetables will help you lose weight.  It is amazing, especially for someone who works in an office and is sedentary most of the time.

You might not believe me.  You might think I’m completely crazy.  Fine, I don’t care.  Stop trying to convince me I’m wrong until you try it for yourself.

I’m not going to give you a bunch of reasons to live this way.  There are plenty of websites out there that can do all of that for you.  There is more than enough information out there.
I have two reasons for you to at least try eating this way:

I effortlessly lost over 30 pounds and easily kept it off.  I had no bad reactions or instant heart attacks.  I feel healthier than I ever have before.

And

Recently, I’ve been traveling a lot.  I’ve been in and out of town and haven’t been able to follow it very well.  I’ve been eating more of a standard American diet on and off for the past couple of months.  Guess what, I’ve gained back about ten pounds. 

I know I can get rid of this again, but it’s ridiculous.  It just goes to show how terrible processed food is for you.

It’s sad that from the beginning we’re taught that you need to get a massive amount of your daily food from grains.  We’re told so many things about what is “healthy”.  You can’t watch TV without seeing how some processed food full of sugar is full of “healthy whole grains”.

It’s terrible.  I work in a downtown area that has plenty of take out lunch places, but there are almost zero places to get a meal made out of non-processed junk food.  Your best option is to get a wimpy salad covered in a sugary dressing.

Yet I see hundreds of overweight people every day eating their “diet” foods.  They get their low fat mayo on wheat bread sandwiches.  They complain constantly about being hungry, but can never actually lose any weight.

People will claim “everything in moderation”, that doesn’t work unless you want to be moderately obese.

I’m done ranting about this.  I’m just tired of seeing people who are overweight and clueless about how to do anything about it because of what TV tells them.

And please, try it first if you want to disagree with me and tell me I’m an idiot for eating meat.  Self experiment a bit before you just believe your television.  You won’t know what works for you until you try it.

6 thoughts on “Self Experiment

  1. Digs

    After eating paleo for a while and going back to a low-fat high carb diet, I can tell you that I couldn’t believe how much better you feel eating paleo. I can go an entire day without eating, and not feel bad at all because my body’s insulin levels are low, literally allowing my body fat to be used as fuel instead of food.

  2. Radar

    the amount of misinformation out there is amazing – but people are lazy enough to believe it. Why on earth would you take nutritional advice from a company whose sole existence is based upon making you eat their product?

    Paleo = sensible.

  3. Pingback: Who cares? « Surviving the Cubicle

Leave a Reply

